New Mercies – New Year

It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.
 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.   Lam 3:22-23

Happy New Year!  happynewyear

It’s a bright shiny new year.  It’s the time of year when we stand at the helm of hope, we gather up all of our self disappointments  and try to paste together an amalgam of disciplines. We want to apply a balm of resolutions so that we find ourselves down the clear path of righteousness at the end of this year. Or at least a path of virtuousness.

But God’s mercies are new every day! Everyday we get the opportunity to do it right.

Every day is New Year’s Day. The only way a resolution will work is by breathing it every day. New air in, old air out. New chance in, used chance out.

The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.   Lam 3:24-25

I love the concept of One Word 365, boiling down your new year’s resolution to just one word that resonates with your inner need for improvement. The aspiration mitered down to a few syllables , much more memorable.  Way easier to remember than say my new year’s resolution from 2010: “I promise to never ever stick my thumb into molten-lava-hot baked clams to see if they are ready to eat yet.” See? Catchy, but clumsy. A simpler term would have been “OUCH!” Attention grabbing, mind jogging, thumb saving.

But then I stumbled upon the 25 For Sanity Manifesto – by Ann Voskamp, and those 25 examples of living life are way too savvy and cool to pass up too. Each phrase waiting to be employed and displayed like a mantilla.

So which is it? A long mantra? Or one word, concrete and applicable like a Band Aid? 

There are soooooo many words to choose from. One of the first possibilities I thought of was “Magnanimous”, but first I had to learn to spell it. When I mentioned it to another she admonished me, “Oh no! You want to receive! You want to get things!” But ehhh, isn’t it better to give than to receive?  Uh Boy.

“Forward” is another word that I thought about. Last year I took the metaphorical horse by the reins and got unstuck from one job and moved “forward”. What a liberating and healthy thing to do. I moved on straight ahead leaving behind a world of dysfunction. Only to find a new and improved brand of dysfunction, tightly veiled, but not unlike a slip showing from beneath your pleated skirt.

calendarSo, do we leave the lessons of last year behind? Or are they a template for the new year? Do I Magnanimously move Forward until I get it right? or is Getting It Right the one (few) word(s) for 2014? Should it be a new word a day? Like a page a day calendar? Perhaps since God’s mercies are new every day.

It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD   Lam 3:26

2013’s experiences shape our view of 2014, and if God wasn’t part of the equation for you, then I pray that you ask him to be so for this new year.

Father God?

In sifting through the experiences of this past year and looking forward to the new one, I pray for Your Word to guide me. Please express to me the path you’d have me take. Plant in me a new word to encourage me to meet your standards. Make me more Christ-like each day. Make me bold in your Word. Help each one of us to see what beautiful plans you have for our lives and to revel in the mercies you grant us each day.

Amen!

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope & Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

