Joy Unspeakable

 “that the proof of your faith, being more precious than gold that perisheth though it is proved by fire, may be found unto praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ:
 whom not having seen ye love; on whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice greatly with joy unspeakable and full of glory”       1Peter 1:7-8

There is a “peace that passes all understanding”! And it blossoms when in obedience, a transcendent connection is made to another through the Holy Spirit. Let me explain.

“The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”  John 3:8

I was driving to the office, not focused on anything in particular when it came up in my mind to pray over someone at work. Pray over as in out loud in their company. Not pray for, which I was already doing. This suggestion was not something I would naturally think to do. It has been something I have wanted to be able to do. It has been something I have hoped to be bold enough to do…..someday. It was a suggestion square in the center of my mind and heart, solid and tangible. So I just smiled at it. I didn’t think on it, I didn’t immediately discount it as silly or out my league. I just accepted it.

Fifteen minutes later, having forgotten about it, there was the opportunity and there was the suggestion. And, I acted on it. I said to my coworker, going through some major transitions-not limited to: a divorce, a friend losing a battle to cancer, a new job and  impending financial troubles. I looked her straight in the eye and said, “I want to pray over you. Can I? Out loud? Pray over you?”

She seemed puzzled but said, “Okay, but can I work while you do that?” and chuckled.

prayinghandsI said sure, and snuggled my chair up to hers and gripped her shoulders and tucked my head near her ear. I thanked the Lord for always hearing our prayers and that we could bring her to His throne of grace. I prayed un-haltingly, thoroughly, and sincerely. I felt her body stop looking at the computer and relax, she straightened up when I said “in the precious name of your son Jesus Christ Amen.”

“I have goosebumps! Look!” She thrust her arm in my face to show me. “The pain in the pit of my stomach! It’s gone! I felt it lift off of me,” she pointed to her stomach. “It’s gone!” This is a pain for which she takes $275 worth of medicine each month.

I looked her in the eye and said, “That’s the Holy Spirit!” I had lump in my throat from the joy that I felt in that moment. Such happiness! I don’t even have the words! The Holy Spirit transcended all of my issues, all of her problems, and in that small time was present with us. The connection was distinct, alive and unmistakable.

Everything else fell away, and I was so joyful. And not ooey-gooey- ((hugs))-lets get lattes-happy. Not physically self-satisfied, or superior or lofty-happy. But a joy that is not the result of anything you can get happiness from here in this earthly experience.

See? There are no words. A delight that moved beyond my capacity to bear, it consumed my inner being, and I was truer than I had ever been.

And I realized, that is what we are here for. That simple act of sharing God with another. The title of that popular book,  A Purpose Driven Life leaped to my mind.

This has happened several times before, and I just wanted more.  I could glimpse for a minute why people would travel round the globe to deliver this message, or become Pastors; for that pure unadulterated joyous connection. That in obedience, doing what was put on my heart by the Holy Spirit, to deliver a message to a heart in need and a heart already prepared by the Holy Spirit to receive the message; to see the truth ignite in the person. The actual cognizant realization that our Almighty God is real! What a hope there is in Jesus!

She wanted to tell “everyone” about it. I said, “I didn’t do anything! It was the Lord!” and I prayed the rest of the day about it, to ward off any ego-stirring and stay grounded, and pray that God would be glorified. Focusing on the joy to be had in this life time!

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.”  Galatians 5:22-23

The next morning’s devotional in Jesus Calling by Sarah Young had this to say:

“I am creating something new in you: a bubbling spring of Joy that spills over into others’ lives. Do not mistake this Joy for your own or try to take credit for it in any way. Instead, watch in delight as My Spirit flows through you to bless others. Let yourself become a reservoir of the Spirit’s fruit

Your part is to live close to Me, open to all that I am doing in you. Don’t try to control the streaming of My Spirit through you. Just keep focusing on Me as we walk through this day together. Enjoy My Presence which permeates you with Love, Joy, and Peace.”

Wow. God is amazing!  heart

Father God?

Help me to follow your instructions, to let your light shine. You are so incredible. I am so grateful for the glimpse of the promise of the joy you have in store for us. I pray my words are yours and the message sits in the heart of others where it can take root and grow as you have done so mericfully for me.

I love you!

Amen.

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope & Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

