Let Your Light Shine

 ….that the light of the world has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the light, because their deeds were evil.

I remember taking a big chance and sharing my God given light with someone relatively close to me, when my light was fairly new. God separated the twisty darkness for me, let me step through the veil and into his radiance. All I had to do was let go.

I explained how for all my self admonishments to release the harbor of years old atrocities cataloged so neatly in my mind, I could not. I was prey to my own resentments and nursing the wounds daily. But the Lord cleared the deck entirely- once I looked to Him. It was not me. I couldn’t do it. Not until I accepted the invitation the Holy Spirit so patiently held out for me.

She listened carefully and said, “I can’t believe you just told me all this. I was at a wake last night and the priest basically said the same thing. I just can’t believe it.”

“Believe it,” was my quiet urgent plea.

“Naaah. I’m not ready yet,” she replied.

He who believes in Him is not condemned: but he who does not believe is condemned already, because of the only begotten Son of God  John 3:18

I heard the sound of the lights snapping off, the whirring drain of electricity squirreling down to nothingness. Darkness flooded up into the divide. She chose not to stand in the light. DSC_0262

Funny how we choose the dark. How the smirk lines the base of our cheek hooking to the lips, conjuring choice thoughts into expression. How we are so self pleased with our stinky little schemes and salty comebacks. How we regale others with our triumphs, “And then I told him a thing or two.”

While all around us we witness the results and shake our heads and wonder why the rest of  world is such a horrific mess.

Jesus explains that we love the darkness. When we do wrong or practice evil we do not want to be exposed. We would rather smirk around in the dark scaling from naughty to downright dangerous rather than face the light.

After God supernaturally took decades worth of pain and bitterness off of me the instant I forgave-which He led me to do- I  still grappled with the concept of remaining in His light.

I thought it would be too hard to be good for that long. For eternity? Me?

But when your heart is filled with God’s love, you just want to be good. You don’t want to hurt people’s feelings, you don’t care if you have the last word, you’re not interested in stepping on toes, or stirring the pot. You just want His peace and not the darkness.

Jesus answered and said to him “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again he can not see the kingdom of God.” John 3:5

So it was a three week process for me. Just coming to terms with the moniker of “saved” or “born again” because so many have totally maligned it. And coming to terms with my own behavior. Once I understood that I didn’t have to do a thing. It was no longer up to me, “but He that lives in me”; I accepted the invitation.

Slowly and gently over the course of another few days my deeds were brought to the light. That’s just how it worked out for me; long forgotten entanglements, wry gestures meant to sting, down right detestable acts would bob up to the surface of memory. I would sit with them for a very short time and give them up in acknowledgment to the Lord.

Painless to me, because Jesus took on my sin, bountiful to me, because Jesus survived death though my sins were pinned to him, I could quietly repent and move on.

“Yes, did that too Lord. Yes the consequences of that action-mine. My own. My fault. I’m sorry Father for doing that too.” And very kindly very patiently -blink of the eye quickly I owned them and moved on. Quite simple.  Each sin released like a plume of vapor absorbed into the merciful light.

For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. John 3:20

His light is sustenance and pure hope. A kaleidoscope of possibility and ever changing.

It is the very meaning of liberty. I was freed. From all the mess I was mired in. The burdens I struggled beneath, the second I believed I found peace and light.

But he who does- the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.   John 3:21

You can soak in the truth of God’s light. He loves you, He is calling you to come to the light.

Father God,

I pray today your perfect invitation to receive the light of truth will be accepted. Those who suffer in darkness needlessly will know You and become what You know them to be. They would call on your son Jesus very essence of your loving light and receive Him today.

Amen!

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope & Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

