To What Purpose?

To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he might be glorified.  Isaiah 61:3

I can easliy see how hoarding gets started. Aside from obvious mental impairments, which I for one do not think need to be televised, I suspect many people are one bulging grocery-bag-thrown-down-the-basement-stairs away from needing an intervention.

For me it combines my interest in crafts and my inclination to imagine that some day I will take an item and actually use it for a project. Recently I found myself carefully extracting  six heads of garlic from a white netted bag and transferring them to an old netted garlic bag that was ripped. The newer netted garlic bag seemed perfect to hold dried lavender buds for the lining of a cross stitched sachet.

The logic was irrefutable, the pressing question remains– will I actually make the sachet anytime in the next forty years?

Re-purposing has become a main theme for many bloggers with good intentions and great ideas. Old light bulbs become penguin ornaments, card board boxes and dowels become ribbon dispensers, old lobster traps become end tables. These are just some of the crafty ideas that come to mind.

We are adept at justifying saving buttons or paper clips or popsicle sticks. Or those old plaid shirts to turn into star garland…….I know, it’s pathetic.

But what about us? Is there a way to re-purpose ourselves? Then it occurred to me–Who is the master of all re-purposing? The Lord. He takes your mourning and turns it into joy. He gives you beauty for ashes and praise for a spirit of heaviness.

How does He do this? Only when you finally give up.

When you finally admit that you can’t do it anymore and that you are out of your league. When you finally get on your knees and look UP. When you say, “Okay Lord. I’m done. You are my savior. You are my redeemer. You are my rock and my shelter. I’m so sorry for the mess I have made of everything. Please forgive me. I believe that you are in charge. I believe that your son Jesus came down here and lived as a man. I believe because of that He knows exactly how I feel and what I’m going through. Therefore I lay it all down before and give you my heart.”

When you break down to that point the Lord who is always near you waiting, leans down and takes your old broken down self and re-purposes you to a new creature.

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.  2 Corinthians 5:17

Gone are your bad attitude and in it’s place a calming peace. God will take you on a journey that you could never anticipate. He will walk with you one teensy baby step at a time and He will so tenderly re-purpose you into a new person. Every stinky thing that ever happened to you- gone. Every stinky thing that you ever did-gone.

You will be a shiny and brand spanking new.

God has already has a purpose for you, all you have to do is be willing to receive it. Get out of your own little way and ask Him. “Re-purpose me Lord! Re-new and refresh me. Give me a heart like Christ. I don’t want this half-way existence any more.”

Ask. Go ahead. Ask.

Father God,

We humbly come before you with our heads bowed and arms out stretched. We love you, we give you our lives. Forgive us our sins and cleanse us with the precious blood of Jesus who faithfully went to the cross on our behalf. Mold us Lord to what purpose you have for our lives. Motivate and energize us. Lift them us out of our own way and place us on the path  with the purpose that you have conceived for each and every one of us.

Amen!

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope & Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

