As Deep Cries Out To Deep

“As deep cries out to deep….We sing Come Lord Jesus, Come….”

I just love that song. I picture of the unfathomable love God has for us; and how we have no inkling to the depth of His love. Sometimes it reminds me of the shallow life I lead.

I realized that the amount of love I parse out to those around me is infinitesimal in comparison to His great love. I take for granted my family members. I discount my neighbors- not even bothering to wave to them.

My co-workers are merely a source of dumbfounding hilarity. I’ve practically divorced my parents and siblings with my busy silence. I regard any new acquaintance with a practiced wariness; and forge new relationships through a guarded cage, arriving at all the possible angles first,  so there are no betrayals.

I’ve come to understand, that what I have to offer, and what I actually do offer is vastly unequal.

The Lord provides us a sunrise every morning! If it’s rainy, the leaves on the trees sway in rejoice of refreshment.  Why can I not supply a simple morning smile and heartfelt kiss for my husband? Or greet everyone with a smile? Not the dismissive wave and grump under the guise of not being “a morning person”.

How did I arrive at this place of shallow love? Why do I stand at the edge of love and not jump in a splash around? The Lord has not hesitated in carrying me to the edge of the pool, He has happily thrown me in. I have tread water here in a modest comprehension of the depth of His love. Drinking it in, floating lazily, absorbing His lessons; and still I keep it bottled up for myself.

The Holy Spirit has brought me to a place now, where I need to stand up every chance I get a declare His Love. I need to wade out of the shallow end and dive down deep to let His love pour out of me. But how do I throw off the guarded life jacket?

Psalm 42:7-8

Deep calls unto deep at the noise of Your waterfalls; All Your waves and billows have gone over me. The Lord will command His lovingkindess in the daytime. And in the night His song shall be with me– A prayer to the God of my life.

The same as when I got saved, and wondered- how in the world I could be a “good girl” all the rest of my live-long-life?

I didn’t have to do anything. God does it all. Because of His great love, I only had to be the girl. He was the Good.

Father? You have often given me the opportunity to offer your love to others. Help me to learn how to cry out to others of your great deep abiding love.

Help me to show others that the Living water’s fine………… and deep.

Amen

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope & Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to As Deep Cries Out To Deep

  1. leeleegirl4 says:

    The verse from Lamentations in your header is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

